We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services and facilitate web usage by analysing your browsing preferences. By continuing to browse, you accept the use of these cookies. You can get more information, or find out how to change the settings, in our use of cookies policy.

May 3, 2017

The design competition jumpthegap breaks records again with the participation of 134 countries

  • The seventh edition of the competition has had over 6000 registrants.
  • The winners will be announced in October: two of them, in the professional and student categories, with a prize of 10,000€ for each and the third prize of 6000€ awarded by the We Are Water Foundation. 

The registration period of projects for the seventh edition of the international design competition jumpthegap ended on the 19th April. This year, with the participation of 134 countries and over 6000 registrants, the competition organized by Roca with the collaboration of BCD Barcelona Design Center, breaks a new record.

This competition crosses borders and reaches all corners of the world: Argentina, Brazil, China, Australia, Russia, Pakistan, Egypt, Canada, India and Spain are some of the participating countries.

In this edition, the awards for the student and professional categories increase from 6000€ to 10000€ each, and the sustainability category, awarded by the We Are Water Foundation, increases from 3000€ to 6000€. The three winners will be announced at the Disseny Hub Barcelona in October.  

Patrick Schumacher, director of Zaha Hadid Architects, president of the jury, will be joined by relevant personalities of the world of design and architecture: Josep Congost (Spain), director of design and innovation at Roca; Vladimir Pirojkov (Russia), Designer, CEO of the High Complexity Prototyping Center KINETICA; Benedetta Tagliabue (Italy), architect, director of EMBT and of the Enric Miralles Foundation; Anjali Srinivasan (India), designer, director of  ChoChoMa; Isabel Roig (Spain), general director of BCD Barcelona Design Centre; Valentin Vodev (Bulgaria), designer, founder of Vodev Studio; and Ma Yansong (China), main founder of MAD Architects.

The special award of the We Are Water Foundation will have a jury presided over by Xavier Torras (Spain), director of the We Are Water Foundation; Sophie Thomas (United Kingdom), director and founder of Thomas Matthews Agency; and Henk WJ Ovink, special envoy for international water affairs at the Netherlands.

The entire information on the competition and the legal grounds are available at the official website: www.jumpthegap.net and on Facebook: www.facebook.com/jumpthegap