2008/2009 Edition

The third edition of jumpthegap® represented the international consolidation of the competition, with the participation of more than 2,800 architects and designers from 89 different countries. On this occasion, the jury was made up of seven professionals: Josep Congost, Carlos Ferrater, Alfredo Häberli, Chantal Hamaide, Carlos Lamela, Alberto Meda and John Pawson as president. 

The jury awarded the project Breathing Bathtub, consisting of a bath that allows users to optimize water consumption by means of a system that works like a sponge and filters the water used in each bath. 

The jumpthegap® award ceremony was introduced for the first time in this edition, an event in which the finalists are invited to witness the announcement of the winners by the jury.



These are the finalist projects of the 3rd jumpthegap® Roca International Design Contest:


Clara del Portillo Pardo & Alejandro Selma Lázaro (Spain)

Free bath

Danil Gavrish & Yuri Uimanov (Russian Federation)


Pierre Chauvency & Arshaad Khodabuccus (France)


Paulo Gouveia & Pedro Guimarães (Portugal)


Professional and Student

Awards Ceremony

Following the voting of the jury members and a tie between 2 projects for 10th place, 11 projects went through to the final of the 3rd Edition of the International Design Contest jumpthegap®. From these finalists the Chinese designer Li Xi’s project Breathing Bathtub was chosen as the winner.

The President of the jury, John Pawson, presented the award to the winning designer at a ceremony held at the Roca stand in the 100% Design Exhibition in London on the 24th September. jumpthegap® wishes to express their warmest congratulations to the winner and the 10 designers of the runners-up projects.